• stcharlesveterans

Attention Veterans Assistance Available

Attention, All Veterans!

Sorry for the short notice-today-Saturday:

Kane County elected officials and candidates are leading two events this Saturday to distribute free Community Care Packages to people in need at locations in Elgin and St. Charles via a drive-in, no contact, delivery system.

The first event will be from 10-12 at the New Life Covenant Church at 2250 W. Highland Ave. in Elgin and the second at the Oberweis for Congress Campaign Office at 1700 Lincoln Hwy., Suite J, St. Charles from 2-4

The Care Package will include items like fresh Oberweis Dairy milk, protective masks,

hand sanitizer, food items, and toilet paper. There will be at least 500 bags distributed at each location, until supplies run out.

State Senator and 14th District Congressional candidate Jim Oberweis provided milk at a similar community events in Chicago with Pastor Corey Brooks and in Harvey, IL with fellow State Senator Napoleon Harris and wanted to bring the idea to his home county of Kane. "I saw how well-received it was, and how so many people participated, that I thought, let's help people here too. I started making some phone calls, and I'm really excited to be able to help provide something positive during these tough times," Oberweis said.

Kane County Circuit Clerk Tom Hartwell, a member of the New Life Covenant Church, had already been planning a similar event with his Pastor Abi Raices. "With so many families hurting, and needing hope and encouragement, this is a way to combine public service with Christian service," Hartwell said.

Cars will arrive at each site and elected officials, candidates and volunteers will place the bags in a popped trunk or the back seat of the car for a smooth and safe delivery. If any member of the public wants to contribute supplies to the events, they can be dropped off at the church at 7 PM Friday, or the Oberweis office from 4 to 6 PM Friday.

Others who have volunteered and contributed, at press time, as event sponsors are:

Kane County Treasurer David Rickert

Kane County Auditor Terry Hunt

State Senator Don DeWitte

State Representative Dan Ugaste

State Representative Keith Wheeler

State Senate candidate and former Elgin U-46 School Board member Jeanette Ward

State Representative candidate and North Aurora Village Trustee Laura Curtis

Kane County Board Member Drew Frasz

Kane County Board Member Doug Scheflow

Kane County Board candidate Dave Brown

Kane County Board candidate Lucio Estrada,

Sugar Grove Village Trustee Ted Koch

Elgin Community College Trustee Shane Nowak

21 views0 comments

©2019 by St Charles Veterans Center. 

311 N. 2nd St. Suite 109 Saint Charles, Illinois

(630) 377-9845